Through My Eyes

White board to scribble my thoughts in Black…

Dandeli Trip – Day 2

with 2 comments

Day 2 – I got up very early, went out on the roads, started exploring the nearby area. Last night we decided that Manju will take me to placed along with the Pune family. So I was completely dependent on the Pune Family, as to what they are interested in doing and their schedule.

So Day 2, Pune family decided to go to Syntheri Rocks. I’hv heard its a nice place. But, they decided not to take me along with them 😦 May be little skeptical about me. I thought Day 2 will also pass silently.

Spoke to Ravi once again, he introduced me to a guy named Bapu Ji (@9880062897). I was expecting him to be an old man, but to my surprise he was not old at all. He should be in mid 30’s.

Bapu Ji took me to Nissarga Dhama at Dandeliappa on his bike. The owner of that place has got abut 2-3 acre land on the bank of Kali River ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kali_River_(Karnataka) ). This is the place at which waste from Paper Mill also comes.

We started spotting few crocs. Just their rocky head in almost black water. It was very hard to spot them because of the blackish water partly due to the waste coming from paper mill. The water was glittering, so was their head.

It was a little difficult to spot these monsters, but after some time in about 30-45 minutes time, there were plenty. They started coming out. I say one of the Crocs getting into water from the opposite side of bank. I managed to see the whole body of Croc, but didn’t had enough time to take a snap. It was very quick & I was unprepared.

Here are few more –

By the time it was noon, there were plenty of crocs. They were just every where, various size, doing just one thing – charging their battery!!!

In the mean while we spotted two birds. I have got no idea as to what they are called –

This sums up Day 2 at Dandeli. Overall it was a fruitful day. At least for me!!!

Written by Sushil Katre

January 30, 2010 at 10:18 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was a little difficult to spot these "monsters…" this si what u wrote, while your enthusiasm and originality is interesting, the way you use the words should be more refined. No wildlife can be termed ass monsters. Crocs are beautiful in their own way, if they were born with such attitudes and sheer size, I feel it is not their fault. If as an wildlife enthusiast you term them as monsters then others will also think that way. As wildlife enthusiast we should use encouraging words and clear any sort of misunderstanding that people may have for certain animals/birds which otherwise are termed 'monstrous.'

    Abhi

    February 2, 2010 at 1:23 AM

  2. Wow, cool pics! And what an amazing experience you must have seeing all this!I'm sure you will have a wonderful trip, just don't try and pet those crocs ;-)/Alexandra

    ropcorn

    August 5, 2010 at 1:40 AM


Leave a Reply

P. Sainath

Rural Reporter

Living a low-carbon life

Some ideas for living a low-carbon, low-guilt, low-cost life

magadi terrace garden

terrace gardens-food for the future

Dakshin Pete

Fresh. Local. Natural.

